Once a task is closed it is pushed into the background by design to prevent clutter. There are options to search for and view closed tasks if you ever need to find the work history on a closed task. See more info in these articles:
Can I include Closed tasks in my task list?
Can I search for when a task was closed?
If you would like to learn about taking a task from inception to completion this help resource has an example workflow.