How do the project level permissions work?

Intervals features project level permissions. This means, any team member that has access to a project can see the tasks, project notes, and documents for that project.

Administrators by default have access to all projects, but manager level users need to be given access to each project. This can be done in two ways:

1. Edit Project Team Permissions

Editing the permissions via the project’s profile page under “Team,” allows you to add multiple people to a project all at once.
Project Team Menu

2. Edit “Project Access” on the user’s profile page

Use this method if you need to add one person to many projects.
Edit user project access

When editing permissions, there are two check boxes for each project:

  1. The first is for project access, which essentially is a Yes/No value for giving them access to the project.
  2. The second depends on the first check box being checked. It gives access to the Secure Project Notes of the specific project.

If you grant this person access to the project they will have access to project notes by default but not to private notes. Think of it as public vs. private notes and as an added layer of protection for sensitive information. These notes are encrypted at the database for added security.

This preference can be used to control whether or not they have access to the private notes for each project to which they are assigned.
User project permission

 

Don't have an Intervals account? Start your own unlimited trial.

No credit card required. No software to install. Cancel any time.

Try it Free